Day 30: It’s worth it

Day 30: It’s worth it

30 days of Forgiveness

When I thought dieting was the answer to my weight problem I did everything I could to be successful. It was not easy. It was painful but it was worth it. I looked better and felt healthier and looked forward to achieving my weight goal.

Since then, I’ve figured out dieting is not the answer. My problem is far deeper than what I put in my mouth and how much I exercise. My weight problem was directly correlated to abuse I didn’t remember.

I also figured out another answer to my weight problem was that I never truly felt loved unconditionally. Food loved me better than my parents or anyone for that matter. It tasted good especially in large amounts like an entire bag of double-stuff Oreo cookies. No milk required. They tasted even better when they were hiding in my chest of drawers under my pajamas.

Actually, the reason I was and still am overweight is I don’t really feel safe and secure. Food is my best friend. It’s always there. It never ridicules me. It never rejects me. It doesn’t say I look fat and it accepts me for who I am unconditionally. I don’t have to be afraid of food beating me, raping me or making fun of me.

Recovery and healing are a process
My therapist tells me that with 11 years of therapy under my belt, I’m not quite halfway through this process. He promised it would get better over time and he’s right. I have been amazed at my recovery though not yet halfway through the process.

Moms in labor also understand once labor pains subside, birthing that bundle of joy is definitely worth it.

Yes, it’s been worth it so far. Every so often I’ll recant that statement but really, it’s worth it. I’d never go back to the way it used to be. Never. So go ahead. Flex that forgiveness muscle and be the change you want realized.

Points to ponder
What struggle is worth it for you? How can you share this hope with others? Will you also share that in the comments below?

Posts in this series
Day 1: Pushing past the pain
Day 2: Stop feeling anger
Day 3: The Lord’s Prayer
Day 4: Detachment
Day 5: Grant a pardon
Day 6: Mercy
Day 7: Release
Day 8: Yield
Day 9: Give up resentment
Day 10: Sacrifice
Day 11: Ascribe
Day 12: Surrender
Day 13: No shame, no blame
Day 14: Awareness
Day 15: Acceptance
Day 16: Action
Day 17: Pain is growth
Day 18: Grace
Day 19: Emotional and spiritual maturity
Day 20: Compassion
Day 21: Don’t give up
Day 22: The house Love built
Day 23: Let the healing begin
Day 24: Freedom
Day 25: Trust God
Day 26: Believe
Day 27: Think positive
Day 28: Restoration
Day 29: My family legacy
Day 30: It’s worth it
Podcast: A little background on Forgiveness series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.